Archdiocese of Toronto

About Us

Within the Archdiocese of Toronto, you’ll find a family of faith that is alive and at work in our community. Comprised of 1.4 million Catholics and 223 parishes, the Archdiocese is led by Archbishop Thomas Collins.

As a family of faith, we celebrate Mass in 36 languages – Toronto is one of the most ethnically diverse Catholic dioceses in the world. To serve the people of our Archdiocese, we provide spiritual and community support in our parishes and chaplaincies. The Catholic Pastoral Centre is also home to our Chancery and other ministries that support the day to day operations of the Catholic Church in our Archdiocese. Together with our clergy, parishes, volunteers, Archdiocesan employees and the entire Catholic community, we are a family living out our faith, ready to act, serve and grow together in God’s love.


When first separated from the Archdiocese of Kingston, the Diocese of Toronto was erected on December 14, 1841. Less than 30 years later, after rapid expansion, on March 18, 1870, the Diocese became the Archdiocese of Toronto. Geographically, the Archdiocese includes Metropolitan Toronto as well as the Regional Municipalities of York, Peel, a portion of Durham as well as the County of Simcoe, a portion of the County of Dufferin and the Town of Orangeville.